The Wind City by Summer Wigmore

This novel was recommended to me by a friend. It’s an urban fantasy story that explores New Zealand mythology.

18304513

“Wellington. The wind city. New Zealand’s home of art and culture, but darker forces, forgotten forces, are starting to reappear. Aotearoa’s displaced iwi atua – the patupaiarehe, taniwha, and ponaturi of legend – have decided to make Wellington their home, and while some have come looking for love, others have arrived in search of blood.

A war is coming, and few can stand in their way. Saint (lovably fearless, temporarily destitute, currently unable to find a shirt) may be our only hope. Tony, suddenly unemployed and potentially a taniwha herself, has little choice but to accept the role her bloodline dictates. And Hinewai, who fell with the rain? If she can’t find her one true love, there’s a good chance that none will live to see the morning.

Wellington will never be the same again.”

 

My exact rating for this book would be a 3.5. It left me feeling conflicted, and not in a good way. The story itself was fantastic. It revolves around New Zealand mythology, something I don’t know anything about. I love mythology, so getting to learn about new legends was great.

The characters were all interesting and engaging as well. I connected with all of them and I especially enjoyed the more morally ambiguous ones. The relationships between them were phenomenally well written.

My main problem with this book was the writing style. There were sections that were written beautifully, and others that were just too casual. Parts of it read less like a novel and more like a conversation. I do like conversational tones, but I feel that it can be easily overdone. The Wind City is a perfect example of that. My frustration came from the fact that not all of the novel was overly casual. As I’ve said, there were sections that were gorgeous to read. Poetic. I just wish the rest of the book was like that. The exposition read almost like dialogue and the dialogue itself could be awkward to read at times.

I would recommend reading this book for its story and not its writing. The cast is diverse and fun to read about, and if you enjoy a more casual tone then you shouldn’t have much of a problem with it.

Leave a Reply

